What‘s it all about?

Safety first, that‘s the most important rule when you‘re operating a forklift. Therefore, forklifts need to be checked according to various safety criteria before they can be used within a plant. At Daimler, this type of safety check used to be performed with a printed list that had to be filled in by hand and then filed in archive folders. To adjust this analogous process to the digital transformation, a responsive web app developed by hydra was demanded.

Tasks and challenges
As a global company, Daimler has recognized the opportunities of the digital transformation: New methods, processes and digital tools are used across the entire company, for example to increase internal cooperation.
This presented a challenge to the “Global Service and Parts” unit: The highly specified skills of the employees needed to be made accessible to their colleagues on a world-wide scale.
To convince the Daimler management board that the solution to this issue was important and feasible, a prototype was suggested. Therefore, we developed a functional app prototype (MVP).

GSPwe-App (MVP)
Our application is a progressive web app (PWA). It was designed for smartphones, but it can also be accessed via desktop browser.
At first, users create a profile including their contacts, location and a photo. In addition, users can provide details on their professional skills and experience. A sophisticated user interface serves to standardize spelling and offers a convenient way to select existing content. A powerful search and the opportunity to upvote colleagues’ skills are at the core of the application.
A great number of micro animations in the stylish Mercedes-Benz design contributes highly to the app’s joy of use, which characterizes the user experience.

Workflow and agile development
The PWA was developed with an agile approach and in close cooperation with the project team from GSP. Thanks to interim experience reviews, all stakeholders could give feedback regularly and make well-informed decisions. This enabled us to complete the project in only a few months.

Presentation at GSP Employees’ Summit
As part of the GSP Employees’ Summit, our MVP and a custom-made teaser video were presented in advance. Our app managed to convince and inspire the summit participants

Worum geht’s?

Aufgabenstellung und Herausforderung
Als global agierendes Unternehmen hat Daimler die Chancen der digitalen Transformation erkannt: Konzernweit kommen neue Methoden, Prozesse und digitale Tools zum Einsatz um etwa die interne Zusammenarbeit zu stärken:
So stand man in der Geschäftseinheit “Global Service and Parts“ vor der Herausforderung, das sehr spezifische Fachwissen der Mitarbeiter allen GSP-Kollegen weltweit zugänglich zu machen.
Um das Daimler-Management von der Bedeutung und Machbarkeit einer entsprechenden Lösung zu überzeugen, durften wir einen funktionierenden Prototyp (MVP) entwickeln.

GSPwe-App (MVP)
Als Progressive Web App (PWA) ist die Applikation für Smartphones optimiert aber auch über Desktop-Browser erreichbar.
Die Nutzer erstellen zunächst ihr Profil mit Bild, Kontakt- und Standortdaten sowie der Möglichkeit, differenzierte Angaben über ihre Fähigkeiten und beruflichen Erfahrungen zu machen. Dabei sorgen wir durch eine ausgefeilte Bedienoberfläche dafür, dass Schreibweisen vereinheitlicht und bereits vorhandene Inhalte einfach ausgewählt werden können. Im Zentrum der Applikation stehen dann eine mächtige Suchfunktion und die Möglichkeit, die Fähigkeiten der Kollegen zu bestätigen. Außerdem wurde ein Umfragetool integriert.
Eine Vielzahl von Mikroanimationen im hochwertigen Mercedes-Benz Design garantiert den „Joy-of-Use“, der das überzeugende Nutzererlebnis kennzeichnet.

Prozess und Agilität
Umgesetzt wurde die PWA in einem agilen Prozess und in enger Abstimmung mit dem GSP-Projektteam. Durch die erlebbaren Zwischenergebnisse konnten alle Stakeholder regelmäßig Feedback geben und qualifizierte Entscheidungen treffen. So konnte das Projekt in wenigen Monaten erfolgreich umgesetzt werden.

Vorstellung beim GSP Mitarbeitertag
Der MVP und das eigens produzierte Teaservideo wurde im Rahmen des GSP Mitarbeitertags vorab präsentiert und konnte die anwesenden Kollegen überzeugen und begeistern.