What‘s it all about?

What’s the best way to manage a fleet of several thousand vehicles? We’ve defined a solution to this question for car2go: the web-based vehicle management platform VLM (Vehicle Lifecycle Management). In this application all vehicle data is managed via a graphical interface and is stored in a central database. From procurement data and basic information to vehicle equipment and financing, the application records over 170 pieces of individual data throughout the entire lifecycle.

Single Source of Truth
VLM is the central point which stores the data of all vehicles and keeps it up-to-date at all times (Single Source of Truth). Other applications and processes can access this data via a REST-interface. Data integrity is ensured by atomic processing.

Agile Development
VLM was developed with Scrum. According to the procurement department at Daimler, we were the first company who received a Scrum project agreement with Daimler. Our inhouse software team has several years of experience in agile software development. Other Scrum projects we carried out include PMM and car2go cares.

Client Feedback
To our clients, the quality of the process was just as important as the success of the product:

This is a prime example of a great job, professional attitude and a team that’s passionate about what they do. Kudos and keep up the great work, everyone!

Christoph Dargel, Product Owner car2go

Worum geht’s?

Wie lässt sich eine Fahrzeugflotte von mehreren tausend Fahrzeugen bestmöglich managen? Diese Frage haben wir für car2go beantwortet: Die Lösung besteht in der webbasierten Fahrzeugmanagement-Plattform „VLM“ (Vehicle Lifecycle Management). Hier werden die kompletten Fahrzeugdaten über eine grafische Oberfläche verwaltet und in einer zentralen Datenbank gespeichert. Von Beschaffungs- und Basisdaten über Ausstattung und Finanzierung erfasst die Applikation pro Fahrzeug mehr als 170 Einzeldaten über den ganzen Lebenszyklus hinweg.

Single Source of Truth
Im VLM werden die kompletten Daten aller Fahrzeuge zentralisiert und aktuell vorgehalten (Single Source of Truth). Die Daten stehen anderen Applikationen und Prozessen über eine REST-Schnittstelle zur Verfügung. Die Integrität der Daten ist durch eine atomare Verarbeitung gewährleistet.

Agile Entwicklung
Das VLM wurde nach Scrum entwickelt. Bei Daimler waren wir nach Aussage des Einkaufs die ersten, mit denen ein Scrum-Projektvertrag geschlossen wurde. Unser Software-Team verfügt über jahrelange Erfahrung in agiler Software-Entwicklung – weitere Scrum-Projekte sind: PMM, car2go cares.

Kundenfeedback
Für den Kunden waren Produkterfolg und Prozessqualität gleichermaßen wichtig:

Das war ein Musterbeispiel für gute Arbeit, Professionalität und Herzblut von der ganzen Mannschaft. Respekt und weiter so an alle Beteiligten!

Christoph Dargel, Product Owner car2go